Born free

No limb, no limits, no problems for me
Those silly meat limbs, no, I’m meant to be free.
Who needs ten fingers or toes or two feet?
Maybe even my arms are limiting me.

They flop all around when I wave to my friends
And they keep me stuck when I hold on to them.
I mean they’re useless, when you’re not climbing trees
I’d rather roll around like a roly-poly.

Well, I do need arms to slide my butt on the ground
And they do come in handy when I’m “running” around.
And hands are OK, if you want to grab things
And fingers can be useful, if you want to wear rings.

But legs – No way! Totally dumb
Who wants to run? Who needs to jump?
It’s ridiculous to think that I need knees –
No shin splints, no ACL, no pulled achilles!

Sure I have back problems and neck strains galore
And people step on me cause I’m so low to the floor
And they tell me, “Use a wheelchair or wear your prostheses.”
But riding my skateboard just makes everything easy.

I was born without legs so I could be free.
No legs, no limits, no problems for me,
Now there is just one thing I wish that could be
For society to be free of stigmas about me.

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Biographical, Disability, Hope, Poem and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Born free

  1. Skip Meier says:

    Marvelous poem and sentiments. Thank so much.

  2. John Jones says:

    Paco, you are such a great guy, I wish we could be friends 🙂

  3. John Jones says:

    A GREAT poem too by the way

Leave a Reply

