My Sweet Emily

(To the tune, “Always a woman to me” – Billy Joel)

Emily Eldredge and Pasqual Torres on their wedding day.

My Sweet Emily

She lives in the present, yet decidedly prudent
She’ll take you to school like you’re only a student
And she’s not one to judge, you’re the only jury
She’ll hear out your case cause she’s always my sweet Emily.

She’ll give you a smile when you’re felling down
She’ll make you laugh and turn your day around
She’s incredibly wise yet so perfectly free
She’s silly and kind and she’s always my sweet Emily

Oh… she had her harder days, she’s had her heartbreaks
And she’s made her mistakes…
Oh… but she never gave up,
And she’ll never let in, the thought of “quitting this time.”

She can open your heart, without surgery
She can ease your mind by you simply drawing
And she already knows what we can barely see
She’ll talk to your demons but she’s always my sweet Emily

Oh… she’ll take care of your thoughts
She’ll take you through the DRoP, and let you down softly
Oh…she’ll get you to wake up
She’ll look deep inside, and you’ll see what she finds.

Now she travels the world, giving soul changing speeches
She touches the lives of each person she reaches
And she’ll make you a friend of your own enemy
She questions your fears and bring you to tears

But she’s always my sweet Emily

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Poem and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Sweet Emily

  1. leeinaz says:

    Paco – what a loving tribute to Emily. You two must be very much in love. You are such a wonderful man and I know that Emily must be just as wonderful. Since I consider you my son, I shall consider Emily my daughter. I love you both. Lee aka Mom Placho

Leave a Reply

