Priceless

Mom and dad don’t buy me many things
Like plastic dolls or candy rings
We don’t go on expensive vacations
To amusement parks or exotic locations
My backyard isn’t cool
No playground or swimming pool
My closet isn’t full of tons of stuff
But don’t worry I have enough
My parent focus on my real needs
Here is just a few of so many
They make me breakfast
And pack my lunch
They drop me off
With a kiss and hug
They sit down with me
After school
And make sure I finish
All that’s due
We talk over dinner
About my day
Then take out a board game
That we can all play
They read to me
In my bed
And kiss me goodnight
On my forehead
They don’t shower me with tokens of affection
They show me love with real connection
By spending quality time with me
They prove the best things in life are free

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Children, Love, Poem and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Priceless

  1. kathryn "Kit" Giuffre says:

    I love your poem. May I use in teaching poetry to my 8th grade language arts class?

    • It would be an honor, I actually only post a few of my many poems, I really need to put them all together and get them publish already. I have been focusing on my speaking career but I am getting back into writing books about my childhood. My aim was elementary age kids but it is great to know that kids in 8th grade would be interested. Also please let me know if you have a blog I may read.

Leave a Reply

