I made a difference in a child’s life today.

I just got the most touching letter from a former co-worker. We had know each other for a few years but no talked outside the office. The letter was so simple yet really inspired me to keep working on the website.

“Pasqual, you are amazing! I love your blog. My granddaughter, thinks you’re so cool. I hope you continue to write.

As long as I’ve known you I didn’t know you were missing both legs! I guess I never gave it any thought.

You are A M A Z I N G and so inspirational. I knew there was a reason I liked you so much *Smile* Thank you for sharing your blog. I’m so happy for you and Emily– she is beautiful.”

Then I asked her why she loved the site so much.

“Sharing of yourself so openly and with humor. The videos!!! You’re writing, I don’t know how you can type I have trouble-and I have all my fingers. I can’t believe how much upper body strength you have. You make hand stands look so easy. Getting into your wheel chair all by yourself. WOW. I can honestly say I never knew you were missing both legs, you handle yourself so well you even drove me to lunch, now I wonder how do you do it

I thought you had something missing, maybe a foot?? Because I remember seeing a metal pole. I just couldn’t put my finger on it so I never gave it a second thought.

I have a picture of you and your girls in my office I think you should post more pictures.

I went home last night and asked my granddaughter what she liked best about the site; she said she liked that your daughter would walk with you holding your hand and she liked that you both were okay with kids asking questions. There is a little boy that is in a wheel chair in her school she finally asked him “why are you in a wheel chair?” and he said “because my parents make me” lol she said he is really funny and he can smile really big like you do.

[My granddaughter], got the courage to talk to [the disabled boy], and has made a new friend. She said he can’t walk using his hands like you do but he can control his wheel chair with his mouth — pretty cool huh [grandma].– Funny how watching your blog made her not afraid or embarrassed to finally ask [the boy] questions. I didn’t even know he existed she never talked about him.

I can’t wait to see more. Keep writing you have a very interesting story.”

Wow! I was simply blown away by the last few lines. I wanted to share my story because I didn’t have any real role model as I was growing up. Being born disabled isn’t like suffering an injury or illness. I don’t want to dismiss those people but to feel truly different from most people since the day you were born and embrace it becasue you don’t have any shame is truly liberating.

Not only did I open the eyes of a little girl much like my own children I helped a boy like me make a friend. That is really what my ultimate goal is for this blog.

In the long run I’d like to get publish but speaking to kids directly will likely be my greatest influence and maybe I’ll make a few friends along the way.

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Children, Disability. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

