Dream Big

Last week I was taking my daughter to school and we were a little early so we stopped at the local gas station so I could get some coffee. While waiting I saw the lottery numbers scroll by and I thought, hey why not buy a ticket? I asked the cashier for a ticket and my daughter asked what that was. I said, “Well there is a game where I give them a dollar and there is a small chance I will win money back. So I’m not buying a piece of paper I am actually dreaming. So buying a ticket is daddy’s way of dreaming a little.” And my daughter looks up at me and says, “Daddy, dream big. ” Wow, I just smiled and reached down and gave her a hug. Her words spoke so much truth and pulled on my heart.

I often live with the reality of working to pay a mortgage and bills and forget to see the world with kid eyes. Children don’t have responsibilities, they have dreams and each day they live out these dreams. They are crime fighter, dancers, airplane pilots or doctors in these fantasies. They have everything they want and money isn’t even a concept. Through their play they decide what would make them most happy and they do it. And by acting out their dreams they are being true to their heart.

As we become adults we factor in all the things we can’t do. And we let reality of situations crush our ability to dream big.

As a practice I ask my girls every weekend what they dream about the night before during breakfast. Many times it’s a humorous story and a few times I’ve used them to write characters for my poems. They are always inspiring and they getting me dreaming as well. I start to think about what I’d like to do. I don’t put limits on what is reality. I just think of the feeling I want and let that wash over me.

And that’s what dreaming is about. It’s not that I will someday become an astronaut as much as it is imagining the joy of being weight less and traveling among the stars. And it’s that moment I am satisfying that childhood spirit inside me that just likes to say, “Hey that sounds fun. Maybe I’ll jump on the bed with the flash light tonight and pretend I’m floating in the night’s sky.”

Dreaming keeps our spirit alive and may even inspire creativity we didn’t know we had. Encouraging our dreams brings them closer to reality and even if they aren’t possible we can take the energy from them to motivate us and bring us joy in our thoughts. The possibility of something being true even for a few moments in our mind can elevate us in our mood and perhaps inspire others to make their dreams come true.

Whatever the thought you have and no matter how distant it is in your mind let it take over your reality even if for a few minutes. So go ahead and dream.

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Biographical, Children, Philosophical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

