Use What You Have to Create What You Want

My Two Hands

How often do we sit in our misery and wish we had more of something. “I wish I had more money.” “I wish I had a better body.” “I wish I was in a different job.”

First of all we are taking plenty for granted. If you have any one of those things you are a fortunate person. You’d likely trade away all your possessions to gain back some of the greatest things you already have: health, family and faith. I suggest we start with what we have as tent poles in our lifes to see what makes us happy and what we are truly looking for.

We can spread out our fingers and trace our hands onto some paper and for each finger write down something that we like about our life. Something that makes you happy or feel very fortunate or something you know you could not live without. As you notice between each finger is a down slope, a gap, something missing. In these gap we can write what we wished we had. Some sort of desire or need that we feel that makes our life less than complete. By the end we may have an uneven number of points either in the positive or negative but we can get an objective idea of what we have and what we value.

The next step is to use what we have to build up what we want. It’s not just the point to dismiss our wants to satisfy ourselves but to say, “I have a great family but I wish I had more education to get a better job.” So then look at what you have to help you? Maybe your family is willing to make sacrifices in your time or in your income to make you happy.

By using the resource you have you may not say, “I wish I could” but instead say, “I have the ability to get this done and my life would be improved. ” On the other hand you may simply cross off a few of your wishes seeing that you are satisfied with other areas of your life. But the real point is to see how fortunate you are and use what you have to get what you need. And then pull your hands off the paper and look at them.

These are your tools. So much is in your control, you’ve done it before, and now you have so much more than when you started. Use these resources and you begin filling all those gaps in no time and you will no longer wish you’d had something because you have the power to create everything you need.

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Hope, Philosophical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

