Good Morning Heart

Good Morning heart
I can feel you in there
You hid for a while
You had quite a scare

You had been treated so poorly
Suffered so much
Abused and neglected
You didn’t know who to trust

But I know now
What I didn’t know then
That only true love
Comes from within

And after some time
And introspection
I could feel you growing
No more need for protection

You were beating again
Even expanding
You knew what you wanted
Not asking, but demanding

You want to be treated
With love and respect
You would not settle
For anything less

You learned what was love
and what was codependence
You could feel what felt wrong
And seek something different

You were glad to see I was patient
To let our feelings align
And thanked me
For giving it plenty of time

I said you are welcome
I’m glad we had this conversation
You took the time
To sit down and listen

And I when got up to go
And begin my day
And you said you had
One last thing to say

Take a chance on love
It will work out for the best
It’s still worth the feeling
You will get in your chest

And when that special someone
Finally says, I love you
Then I’ll be the one saying
Good Morning to you

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Love, Poem. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

