Release Me

There was a time when I was sorry
A time when I was sad
When I use to think I was the reason
That you were always mad
But I’ve slowly started seeing
That is had nothing to do with me
And I knew you were just unhappy
And you needed to release me
Release me from your anger
Release me from your life
Release me from the promise to be husband and wife
It’s time for us to move on
It’s time for us to just be
It’s time to stand on our own
It’s time to release me
I never wanted to hurt you
I only wanted joy
But I couldn’t make you happy
I was just a boy
I wanted to have fun
I wanted to go out
I wanted to have it all
But you always had your doubts
You didn’t trust were I was going
You didn’t like my friends
You didn’t think I was coming home
And we couldn’t just pretend
That we were made for each other
We couldn’t make it last
I want to forget it all
And stop living in the past
Just release me
Don’t keep being angry
You need to let me be
And after time apart
You will surely see
All the anger that you can let go
All the pain you can set free
So stop pointing the finger
I don’t need your blame to survive
I don’t want to play the victim
Or listen to your lies
I don’t want anything other
Than the freedom to believe
That you will free yourself
When you finally released me

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Poem, Sadness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Release Me

  1. ivorjcw says:

    OUCH! I feel the intense pain; Paco, this is a VERY POWERFUL poem, believe me.

    Need a bit of tidying up though (line 6 “that IT had nothing to do with me.”

Leave a Reply

