My Right Hand

My right hand is a little different
than most of you
Instead of five fingers
I only have two
It doesn’t cause much problems
Only an occasional issue
Like when I reach out to shake hands
With someone new
Sometimes I get a stare
Or puzzled face from a few
But I just keep on shaking
What else should I do?
I once had a kid pull away
Like he was in fear
It really hurt my feelings
But I didn’t shed a tear
Because my right hand is special
I’ve seen no others the same
So I appreciate what it can do
In its special way
And if others don’t like my hand
Or the way I shake
I could use my left hand
But what difference would it make.
My left hand only has four fingers
And if it was fine with you
I just keep using my right
Like other people do.
I am proud of my right hand
And my two fingers
I can do many things with it
So it doesn’t hinder
Or prevent me
From doing the same as you
And I can do other stuff
Like giving a “High Two”
I can act like it’s a claw
Or an alligator
I can easily do a peace sign
When I mean “See you later”
But most of all I like my hand
Because it’s part of me
And it makes me happy
To be so unique

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Disability, Poem. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

