I’m Not Normal

I’m not normal
I don’t look like you.
I don’t have two legs
I when I stand I’m 3 foot 2

I’m not normal
I only have six fingers
Two on one hand
And four on the other

I’m not normal
I have rubber feet
I can’t wiggle my toes
But at least they don’t get sweaty

I’m not normal
I have robotic knees
They sense how I walk
And swing accordingly

I’m not normal
I don’t ride a bike, hike or run
I use a wheelchair for exercise
And use skateboard just for fun

I’m not normal
I often think ahead
I am careful of how I speak
and mindful of what I’ve said

I’m not normal
I can be quite refrained
I don’t get upset when you stare at me
And I’m sure to not do the same

I’m not normal
I don’t ask the questions that you do
Like why are you so small
And does your brother look like you too

I’m not normal
And I don’t even wonder why
I often ponder more important things
Maybe you should try

I’m not normal
and it’s ok with me
I’m not saying I don’t care
I’m just happy with what I see

I’m not normal
I am great
I am unique
I am amazing
I am beautiful
I am extra-ordinary!

I’m not normal
I am everything I’ve set out to be
I am every bit that is not normalcy

I’m not normal
And I can stand here in front of you
On my little knees

And say,
“I’m not normal, and I don’t want to be.”

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Disability, Poem. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

