Alone with You

Take a look in the mirror
Tell me what you see
Is it a smiling face
Or stare left empty
You shake your head
in disbelief
Saying out loud
“No this can’t be”
You barely recognize
What you’ve become
Lost without purpose
Totally numb
And you start to recall
how you got here
The steps that you took
And your eyes begin to tear
You abandon your morals
Dissed all your friends
You abused your body
And you can’t pretend
That it wasn’t your choice
That someone did this to you
It’s self-inflicted
And you always knew
That this would happen
You’d end up alone
Bitter and broken
No way to atone
For the anger inside
Which you created
And pushed away
All those you needed
And now in your
hour of pure desperation
You call on me
without hesitation
And think that
I will just forgive you?
I do…
And I forgive me for abandoning you too.

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Poem, Sadness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

