Starting over

It’s not something I planned on so late in my life.
I thought we swore forever
We would be husband and wife
But so many problem
And so many fights
And now we are starting over
Doing what is right
We’re dividing up the stuff we accumulated over time
Placing them in boxes labeled yours and mine
You took the kids and furniture
then moved in with a friend
Told me where to send the checks and time I get them
I see the kids every weekend
And any time you let me
They are my heart and joy
Truly my everything
So now I’m starting over
Not much to show
Yes, I’m starting over
And I have no where to go
I can’t keep the house
I don’t have the time or money
And I’m left to pick up the pieces
Just here sad and lonely
So I do what I can and put on a happy face
Tell the kids I love them
And handle it with grace
But inside I’m hurting
Recounting my mistakes
Wishing things were different
Every single day
But it’s the path we chosen
And the bed I made
So I’m starting over
Starting over, again
Some nights I cry
But I do my best to try
Make a change for the better
Sit down to write myself a letter
It’s all the things I want to do
Now that I’m no longer with you
And how I want to be
And the places I want to see
and the feeling I could never share
When you were there
I want to feel safe
I want to have pride
I want to be supported
By a person at my side
I want to have the courage
To ask for what I need
I want to have fun
And not always worry
I want to be the person I was before I met you
I want to be me
I want to breakthrough
And I’m starting over
I couldn’t be happier
Yes I’m starting over
And I’ll be even better
And I won’t settle
For less
I’ll strive to be the best
And never look back
Just keep heading forward
Keep heading toward…
Me
Being happy
I’m starting over

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Poem, Sadness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

