Here comes the Judge

So I was thinking what if someone read my blog and didn’t like it? It happened to someone I know. They were attacked by a total stranger and then brought more light to the anger when she mentioned the topic on Facebook and was attacked by presumably her own friends. Now the topic bordered on religion and the people coming after her were using their philosophy to attack her. They would quote scripture and more and I was saddened.

In a time when people barely go to church and others have never found a religion that fits their own ideology there are those that use their religious views to force others away. I do not believe it is the job of religion to save people. It is people’s job to find something that brings them peace in themselves. When you find the right one there is no need for others to teach you. You’ll be so energized by its teachings you’ll absorb as much as you can.

So it strikes me as ignorant for people to pass this judgment attempting to force their ideas on others. It’s just not going to work. In fact quite the opposite. People will resist the pushing, not because they don’t like what the other is saying but because they want to learn for themselves. They want it to be natural. So instead judgers should judge themselves. Follow what they do and be mindful of what they say and other will see it and maybe follow them down their journey.

Ultimately letting go of judgment altogether is the sure path to happiness. Ask yourself a few questions. What if I wasn’t perfect? What if others were flawed too? What if I worked with someone to help me with some small issue I have. Maybe that person will say, “Hey you are great, I don’t think you should worry about it, I do the same thing. ” The result is astounding.

So release yourself from judgment. You are not perfect and no one is. But you can always better yourself by letting go of your judgements and focusing on charity and fellowship.

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Love, Philosophical. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here comes the Judge

  1. Kelly says:

    Paco I soooooooo looooooove reading your stuff… knowing you from such a different perspective (HS) it amazes me how much I never realized… you were always Paco and the guy with the skateboard… I never thought of you as the “boy without legs” unless it had to be pointed out in a story of mine or a friends you know like Scott or Sam or such. Either way I so love that fact that I have such an inspirational friend who truely has been down paths most of us will never see. And grant it this is a random post to a random blog I had to say something… for I totally think that judging is bs and that the term “beauty is in the eye of the beholder” means a whole lot more then exterior concepts. =)

    • Kelly,
      Thank you for reading. I have been writing poetry since 2nd grade and I have been keeping a journal of thoughts since freshman English. So I have been this introspective person but I didn’t understand the meaning of my life until I had children and now that I am going through this separation I understand how I want to be perceived and how I am able to share all that I have learned. As for the boy without legs, I usually regard that as the set of poems I wish to write about my childhood, not so much me as I stand now. But I am very fortunate that many of the people I was surrounded with didn’t regard me as a boy missing anything as much as a guy that was very much living just like them.

Leave a Reply

