Being Myself

I don’t have ten fingers or ten toes
Or even legs from knees to below
Didn’t have a mother to rock me to bed
To tuck me in or rub my head

Never lived anywhere for more than a few years
No lifelong friends found around here
Angry father, yelled too much
He was so often out of touch

Brother was distant, never sharing –
more than a punch in the chest, thanks for caring

Kids were cruel, even in high school
I tried to fit in with the crowd, thought I was cool
Married young, a girl of great beauty
She never cared for much, always was moody

So you’d think I would look back on my life
from a rough childhood to an angry wife
And wonder what did I do to deserve all this?
But you’d be mistaken, totally amiss

I learned a lot from so many woes
From poor choices made and all of those
Decisions I made and who I turned my back on
When I stood my ground, when “guns” were drawn

And to say “I’m not gonna take this anymore!”
I’m standing my ground!” stomping on the floor
“Now listen up, I’ll only say this one time!
It’s my life, and the decision is mine!
I won’t lay down, try not to cry,
I won’t give up, lay down, and die!
I’m fighting for my right, to stick up for me –
to act like the person I always wanted to be!”

So don’t feel sorry, I don’t need your pity
My life won’t always be so darn gritty
I’m turning the corner, I’m making a break
I’m raising my game, I know what it will take…
To be the best me, and you’ll understand
That I can do this without you, I’m in command

So go away “friends” and enemies
I don’t need you around.  Just let me be
I can put down the expectations weighing on me
And finally sit and be free of my misery

And despite the challenges and all of the pain
I’m stronger now, I am truly changed.

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Biographical, Poem. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

