Refocus Your Energy on You

During a recent trip to Dallas, Emily and I went to King Sauna Spa for a day of centering and cleansing. While most of the time we spent sweating in an actual brick oven, we did happen to meet a few fantastic people – one of whom was a gentleman that came right up to me and said, “You have great energy, and I am suppose to tell you to finish your book”. It was great to have confirmation from the Universe from a man I had never met.  That doesn’t happen very often. But this wasn’t the first time I have had a person touch me and say I was putting off good energy.

I can’t say I know where this “good energy” comes from specifically, but I understand that I can create it. For the last year, I have been going through financial and family trouble. It has taken a toll on my energy  – so much so that I slept for nearly a day over the weekend and went to bed early the following day as well. I couldn’t shake this feeling that my energy was being sucked out of my body. So I read my favorite book, Conversations with God, to comfort me before going to sleep, and, as usual, I was able to find some passages relevant to what I was going through.

I was letting my energy focus on so many things that I was creating issues for myself. So when I stopped reading, I turned off the lights sat in my bed to pray, focus my energy, and breathe. After about 15 minutes, I wasn’t even tired. I had actively gone out and reclaimed my energy.

Certain laws of physics talks about energy, and it is especially true with the human body. We aren’t losing energy – we are merely transferring it, and, if we want it back, we have to allow it back in. We become the source of our own energy.

Recently I was “talking” to friend on Facebook who seemed upset that he was not focusing on his creative activity. Life responsibilities had seemed to get in the way, and he felt unsupported by his family. I told him to stop blaming his family. They want his time because that’s what families do. He needed to take it upon himself to make time for him. In talking with him, I mentioned claiming his time/energy back – not allowing others to feed off of him. People don’t take maliciously; it is just how they work.

But it is our own responsibility to claim our time, our energy, and focus on doing what we need to do for ourselves – without worrying about issues that may not be creating happiness for us. And when we re-center and focus on ourselves, we have more energy, and we can be more helpful to everyone around us.

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Biographical, Philosophical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

