It’s Not Going to Kill You

“Accidents happen”, “People make mistakes”, “Get over it”.  These are phrases people have come up with to help us understand how flawed we are as humans. So why is it these words never seem to bring us any comfort?

We say, “Yeah, I know,” and then privately wish we had made a different choice or think we are a screw up.  But where does that get us?  Does beating our selves up because we forgot to pay a bill make us any better at remembering to do it next time?  Not likely.

So first step is to say, “Did this screw up hurt anyone?” If it did, spend your energy helping them – not condemning yourself.

Next, ask yourself, “If I did it again, would it kill me?” Usually not. So let it go. As we really rationalize the occurrence, we see it’s not a big deal. Life will go on, and the next screw up is just around the corner, so why not embrace it for what it is?Your unique imperfection. It’s a charming quirk about you that makes you different. You can accept it or deny it, but it’s you.

The great part about accepting our mistakes, our quirks, and ourselves is it gives us a whole new sense of freedom. It’s not a license to be reckless, but it is a chance to say, “Whatever, I’ll live through this.”

A side effect is people will see you differently: a person that can handle anything, doesn’t lose their cool, really embraces life. And now not only are your problems suddenly melting away, but other people are beginning to see you as an authority on happiness. So what went from something “isn’t going to kill you” just became a small change in attitude that will enrich your life, and you may actually live longer and stronger.

So don’t sweat the small stuff. Who knows?  Maybe it hurts for a second, but it’s not going to kill you.

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Hope, Philosophical. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Not Going to Kill You

  1. Guadalupe says:

    Hola Paco, my name is Guadalupe and a lot older than you, love your writing, seems to come from the heart. As you said: Don’t sweat the small stuff, is true, I had live all my life with the stigma that my biologic father didn’t want me, and didn’t even want to give me his name, but at the same time, he made me a favor because another person took his place and love me and protect me as his own. So why I felt empty those many years , asking why?
    Who knows, I just know that this soul searching has teach me to be more label head to all the things I do.
    Keep it up Paco, you have your own light

    • Thank you for reading Guadalupe. I am pleased that you took some joy in my words. My parents divorced when I was 6 and my father took me so I didn’t really know my mother. At times it was very difficult but like you I had to see that I needed to find joy in my life and not focus on something I had no control over. When we direct ourselves at what we can control we suddenly have the power to do whatever we can to become happy. And the years you spend unhappy are part of life. It take these bad times to really appreciate the good times. But now that you have dealt with that pain you can fully appreciate your transformation and continue moving forward. I wish you the best on your journey.

Leave a Reply

