Being Thankful

Everyday gives us a chance to measure our character. We can face up to challenges and be thankful for all that we have or we can collapse under the weight of expectations.

I have a routine everyday. I wake up alone. I take a shower. I brush my teeth, put on my legs and drive to work. It seems mundane but it gives the opportunity to be thankful for having peace and quiet, having a home, hot water, having my health, having the best prosthetics science can provide, a car, and a job that I enjoy and provides me money to afford all these this.

I say a prayer every morning and every night to be thankful for these things. And even if your faith is different you can see how prayer and meditation can center my energy. I don’t spend time worrying about what I don’t have and how I can get more things I don’t need. I just sit with myself a few minutes of the day and show appreciation for what I have. I say them in not particular order but I say, “Thank you for allow me to have…, Thank you for providing me with…, I am so grateful for…” . Until I am calm and centered into myself and able to smile and no just say the words but really appreaciate these things.

In doing this I release any expectation for what I do not have. Because wishing and hoping for what I don’t have won’t bring it to me. But by letting go of it can still bring something to me. Often I am surprised when I do get something seemingly without even asking and then I am even more thankful. It brings a new level of joy and thankfulness.

So no matter the weight the world has put on you. Maybe a house you can no longer afford. Be thankful for what you have and see that you were holding onto something you can live without and it will be replaced but something you will be so thankful for when you it falls into your lap unexpectedly.

Thank you.

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Biographical, Philosophical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

