Let Kids Be Kids

They say youth is wasted on the young because they don’t recognize how good they have it until they are grown up.

This is usually because kids can be sheltered by their parents and they want to grow up as soon as possible.

I certainly see the validity of protecting your kids from harms way. But still encourage their growth. Allow them to learn from small failures while they are young and they will show maturity in dealing with the situation. Allow them to do a few things without close supervision to see how they deal with a situation. Not all kids can handle the freedom but some will certainly surprise you.

While I made a few mistakes that I wish I could have changed I learned a great deal more about my character by dealing with the situation. My father was great in how he was more like a safety net then a handcuff. He would often sit me down after I made a mistake and ask me what I learned. Sometimes he would have me write an apology letter to the a person I harmed with my mistake. By going over what I had done I learned where I went wrong. I’m thankful my father had this wisdom to let me be a kid and not just punish me but actually discuss the issue.

On the other side of the coin I did do a lot of growing up too soon. Part of this is from coming out of a divorced family. And I know my dad wanted to grant me independence but sometimes I really just needed to be told that I was loved. So there is a balance to this parenting technique and it shifts all the time. But with the right mix your child will be grateful and they will be an independent adult that makes thoughtful decisions. And you’ll be thankful for that too.

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Biographical, Children. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

