Poem: Wake up

Before school everyday
I turn on your light and I say

“Time to get up and show me some love
It’s time for your wake up hug.”
“I’ll pick you up you’ll each get a turn
And squeeze you tight while you squirm.”

And you say, “Aw dad, I’m still so tired.
But thanks for the offer. I was so inspired.”

“You kids are my morning cup of joe”.
“I give you hugs cause I love you so”

“We know dad. You mean so well
and love your hugs I’m sure you can tell”
“But can we sleep just a little bit more.”
“It not like you’ve never hugged us before”

“Nope it’s time to get up and get on your way.
Daddy’s gotta work and you’ve got a test today”

So they rise and shine and stumble out of bed.
With hair all a mess and flat on their heads.
They finish up their cereal and get all dress.
Then hop in the car. Hope for the best.

And at school we all say our goodbyes.
And I give them a hug again and they don’t even ask why.
And for five days straight I do it again.
Giving them a hug every morning.

Sometimes they complain sometime they just do it.
But I just smile all the way through it.
And when Saturday comes. No one wakes them up.
So they sleep in without being disrupt.

But they both have an idea that causes them both to snicker.
As they sneak down the hall their smiles grow bigger.
They open daddy’s door and shout out “Surprise”
And surely I am by the size of my eyes.

They say, “Good Morning dad. It’s time for our wake up hug”
And they both cuddled with me. I am truly loved.

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Children, Poem. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

