Poem: Let Go

Let go of the past
Its gone and forgotten.
Let go of regret
Before your insides are rotten
Let go of your fears
They can’t help you now
Let go of the shame
I’ll show you how.
Let go of the problems that bog you down.
Let go of the chains that tie you to the ground.
Let go of that anger and bitterness.
And come into the light and you will feel weight less.
Let go of thought, just trust and feel.
Let go of the idea, so it can be real
Let go of it all, so you can finally see.
Letting go, lets your arms be free.
And finally you can make more room
to hold on to me.

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Poem, Sadness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poem: Let Go

  1. ivorjcw says:

    Paco, this is a very empathetic poem .. ALL of US have things in our lives or from our past that we need to “let gp” of .. NOT only so we can be freed, but also that we can be loved and accepted by those who love and reach out to us.

    One small point lines 5 & 6: “let go of your fear ..IT can’t help you now” OR “let go of your FEARS” .. they can’t help you now.”

    Sincerely,

    Ivor

    • Thank you Ivor, many of my early work was done on a tiny blackberry screen and came to me as a flood of emotion so I didn’t spell check a lot of it. I really need to review my work more. Yes the poem is a reminder as we hold on to the old pain we don’t make room for love into our life and as some point we need to let it all go.

Leave a Reply

