I Love This Song

Jason Mraz – Lucky featuring Colbie Caillat

(feat. Colbie Caillat)

Do you hear me,
I’m talking to you
Across the water across the deep blue ocean
Under the open sky, oh my, baby I’m trying
Boy I hear you in my dreams
I feel your whisper across the sea
I keep you with me in my heart
You make it easier when life gets hard

I’m lucky I’m in love with my best friend
Lucky to have been where I have been
Lucky to be coming home again
Ooohh ooooh oooh oooh ooh ooh ooh ooh

They don’t know how long it takes
Waiting for a love like this
Every time we say goodbye
I wish we had one more kiss
I’ll wait for you I promise you, I will

I’m lucky I’m in love with my best friend
Lucky to have been where I have been
Lucky to be coming home again
Lucky we’re in love every way
Lucky to have stayed where we have stayed
Lucky to be coming home someday

And so I’m sailing through the sea
To an island where we’ll meet
You’ll hear the music fill the air
I’ll put a flower in your hair
Though the breezes through trees
Move so pretty you’re all I see
As the world keeps spinning round
You hold me right here right now

I’m lucky I’m in love with my best friend
Lucky to have been where I have been
Lucky to be coming home again
I’m lucky we’re in love every way
Lucky to have stayed where we have stayed
Lucky to be coming home someday

Ooohh ooooh oooh oooh ooh ooh ooh ooh
Ooooh ooooh oooh oooh ooh ooh ooh ooh

I love that song. It really speaks to me and Colbie is a beautiful singer. But it’s funny the way people talk about luck sometimes. What is luck. I saw a movie called Intacto, about a group of people that believed luck was a commodity that could be traded and exchanged and even stolen from others. Only specific people had this gift and many of them played these unusual games of luck with other people’s lives and their own to win more luck from others.

People often get things like jealousy and envy mixed or coincidence and irony. But what is the confusion with luck… maybe fate, maybe chance. I’m not sure but luck seems highly over rated unless you’re the one that has it. In a practical look. I’d say luck is total BS. It’s for people that stumble upon good things without working for them. Or it’s an instance where you don’t get totally screwed when you really deserved it. Those can be considered lucky moments.

But can you be lucky in love at the saying goes. I don’t know. I think love is too complicated to be left to chance. You may be lucky to find that special person at the right time and place in each of your lives but does that mean if you met earlier or later that it wouldn’t be the same? Good question. As we age and change an experience slants our perspective our comfort with ourselves and others may change as well. So circumstance seems to be a better predictor of love then just luck.

To be less literal the song sings about being lucky with someone. Now for an old locker room stand point which dates back to even the love song in Grease, “Did you get lucky?”, is usually a term used for physical action more than a term served for love and emotion. So Lucky in love may mean something to some guys rather than to girls. Being that the song is a duet it warrants a look at if one person’s view of luck is the same as the others.

But the biggest truth in the song is that they are lucky to be in love with their best friend. Which always begs the question, which comes first, the friendship or the attraction. I’ve heard it working out both ways between men and women but I think attraction for men comes earlier then with women. A man doesn’t always see his attractive match as his best friend and a woman doesn’t necessarily find a friend as a someone she may find attractive. It’s quite the issue for the ages. In my personal experience the attraction comes first. It’s difficult to change first impressions. Even though people may change and become more attractive later, if that initial spark isn’t there it may never develop and then friendship almost becomes the mandatory fall back. But if the spark is there then working towards a friendship with this person for whom you are attracted is likely to make them even more attractive to you. And even put them into a position of soul mate.

Now soul mate is a huge term which I have difficulty understanding. From a practical perspective it’s nearly impossible to prove or denied and to say that you found the one person on earth with the key to your locked heart, well it is just a total denial of probability. But from a more emotional stand point it makes more sense to me every day. Its a person who tugs so strongly on your heart and soul that you can literally feel the tear when they are too far away. Now that said it would be a sad fact for someone to be so obsessed with another person that they feel lost without them but it does play up the notion of heartbreak. Can an emotional pain hurt you physically. Well we’ve seen stress cause ulcers, hair loss, lack of sleep, loss of appetite. So actual heartbreak seems possible.

But back to my original thought. I don’t think you can be lucky in love. I think love is a chance people take just like choosing a path to work or what degree to get in school. Some choices are minor and have no results some may shape your entire future. Honestly the only thing you can do is inform yourself before hand and hope that you are wise enough to see the difference as they occur. Luck would be if you were actually able to anticipate these changes and plan for them and of course land on the right side of the decision. So do I believe in lucky love, yes. Anyone who falls in love is lucky to have the person they love and that’s the kind of luck you can’t just stumble upon.

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

