The Nick Name Game

So DJs at (103.9 the edge) radio in Phoenix were taking about a theory of childhood groups and their nick names. I don’t know how true it is but its certainly had some validity and made me think back to my childhood group. His theory was there was one kid who was known only by his first name, one kid known only by his last name, one kid known as a cool or funny nick name and the last had a mean nick name that wasn’t always said to his face. I know in my group we were close to that. I had the several unusual or cruel nick names. My birth name was Pasqual but then was given Paco immediately following becasue no one was able to pronouce my real name. My nick names include “2Pac”; the rapper, “Some-nose”; as it was my similar to my middle name Santos plus I had a big nose and “P-nuts”; as one day this guy was calling everyone – nuts and when they got to me well it stuck, also I was the shortest guy so it really made sense. The leader of our group went by his first name. The baseball guy went by his last name because it was Dutch and just sounded funny: Vandersloot, Sloot for short. And then their was our burnout friend we called Tweak and others I forget. So his theory works for me but another guy on the radio said nothing like that happened in his neighborhood, everyone went by their first or last names. How boring is that? I suggest everyone should have some sort of funny nick name, its all a part of growing up.

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Biographical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

