Truth Hurts

So my favorite movie in High School was Natural Born Killers by Oliver Stone. It’s a great satire on the media’s glorification of violence and American’s willingness to love any TV star even a couple of murders. There are plenty of great lines in this film but I want to focus on one such sequence and I’ve gathered from IMDB.com: Old Indian : [Once upon a time, a woman was picking up firewood. She came upon a poisonous snake frozen in the snow. She took the snake home and nursed it back to health. One day the snake bit her on the cheek. As she lay dying, she asked the snake, “Why have you done this to me?” And the snake answered, “Look, [b@tch], you knew I was a snake.” This line suddenly spoke so much volume to me as I thought about my ended friendship I had with a guy I knew for 12 years! As a kid he was always telling stories and that made him fun to listen to. He was a great story teller, kind of like the father in the movie Big Fish. Back then he would exaggerate, embellish, and it would seem harmless. But as he grew up I noticed he seemed to be getting worse and really was just lying to people to either get them to believe him or to protect himself. Finally it came to a point were his lying was malicious and I couldn’t tell if that was his intention or if he actually believed the things he was saying to be true. I told him after one very disappointing event I wasn’t going to talk to him. I thought we had a clean break. Then 3 months later he called me up out of the blue like nothing had happened. And I’m thinking it had been 3 months, he should know I was upset at him and it was’t like he called to apologize, it was like he wanted to know why I hadn’t called him? So I told him things were not ok and we are still not talking. He said he had made his peace and he was right with God and now it was my problem! I actually was so annoyed I said fine and hung up. That was over a year ago and I was still pissed about things until I remembered this line from the movie. He was never going to change. He had always been this person and it use to be the reason we were friends but it got out of control and I never told him until it was too late. I’m sorry that he is a snake but I can’t go on being friends knowing he is what he is and I was going to get bite eventually.

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Philosophical. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

