I Drink, Therefore I Am

It seems in my life I have more drunken hours with my friends then not drunk and really prefer being drunk with them. I don’t know that it is that I see them differently as much as it makes me feel better about being around them. They are all good people but everyone seems so much happier after they have had a few drinks. But it appears there could be a problem with all this. Sure drinking is hard on the body but that’s another show. Today we will see how it affects your memory and your mood.

This thanksgiving weekend my friend’s dad had a Christmas party and allowed my friend to have a few people over in the den/ garage. Because I had gotten so drunk the night before I decided that I wouldn’t drink so much and would offer myself as a Sober Driver. In my definition that means I had 3 beers in 3 hours. But you really gat to see people differently. It seems in the past that we use to get really drunk and have a good time and create memories. Usually at parties similar to that one we were at or in a dirt spot in the mountains or some place wild. Now we go to clubs and dance. Rarely do any stories come out of that and therefore we were always talking about the past and how much fun we had back then. And 90% of the stories dealt with us being drunk somewhere. I never saw us a alcoholics but really we don’t do anything sober, now or then.

It makes you think. Why in the time since we grew up from small kids to adults did we lose the courage to do things and have fun? I mean really we drink cause it makes us feel happy and crazy and able to do anything. But as kids we use to do these things and have as much fun as we could without drinking. I wonder if I could ever go back to that time. So I figured for my new years resolution I would try and stop drinking. We will see how that goes.

About boywithoutlegs

I am the author of the boy without legs website. I was born without legs and have used the experience to write children's poetry. I would love for anyone to read and be inspired and if you are interested in publishing my poetry please contact me.
This entry was posted in Biographical, Sadness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

